TX Cosmetology Continuing Education Course FAQs
Who is required to take this course?
Anyone in Texas with an operator license; an esthetician, manicurist, esthetician/manicurist, or eyelash extension specialty license; or a hair weaving, hair braiding, wig, or shampoo/conditioning specialty certificate must take 4 hours of continuing education as part of the renewal process. You may apply for a renewal before taking the course to avoid paying a late renewal fee, but you are responsible for successfully completing the continuing education before your license or certificate expires.
Does this course meet Texas state guidelines?
Yes. This course meets the guidelines set forth by the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR) and can be found on their list of approved courses.
How long is the course?
The course is 4 hours long. It covers four topics, each of which lasts one hour. There is a timer for each topic, in accordance with TDLR requirements, so you must spend the full hour in each topic. However, you may spend longer than that if you wish to review the material as thoroughly as you like.
What topics are covered?
The four topics covered are as follows:
- Sanitation (required by TDLR)
- Hair & Nails
- OSHA Regulations
Is there a test?
There is no final exam, but there are quizzes at the end of each topic. The quizzes each contain five multiple choice questions. You must pass each one with at least 70% correct before you will be able to move on to the next topic. You have an unlimited number of attempts to pass each quiz.
What happens once I finish the course?
Once you pass the course, you will be able to immediately download a certificate showing you have successfully completed your 4 hours of continuing education. We will also submit your information to the state so they have a record.
What do I do to renew my license?
You will need to apply for your license renewal with the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation at their website: https://www.tdlr.texas.gov/App_Online/default.asp?LicenseType=COS